Saturday Mornings

I just love waking up early on Saturday mornings.

My internal clock seems to think that I am still going to work, so the beeping in my head begins at 5:00. Usually, I am able to get back to sleep quickly, once realizing it is Saturday. My sleep will continue for about another 45 minutes Waking up this time, I will debate whether to try to go back to sleep or wake up. Waking up usually wins.

Now it is time for coffee and my DVR. Sometimes I will read a book or go through Ashleigh & Mollie’s backpacks looking at their recent art work and mounds of graded papers. This is my time to sit, think, relax. The house is so quiet and peaceful before everyone else wakes up.

ME time only lasts for about an hour until the pitter-patter of tiny people feet, or the heaviness of my husband’s, hit the ceiling above me. It is now time to start my day being mom & wife. But I am ready for the day because I was able to concentrate on me for a little bit.

I just love waking up early on Saturday mornings.

11 thoughts on “Saturday Mornings

  1. “ME time only lasts for about an hour until the pitter-patter of tiny people feet, or the heaviness of my husband’s, hit the ceiling above me.” Love the descriptions of the sounds of feet! I can picture it and understand it fully! I was feeling so relaxed reading this, Kelly. I also felt so happy for you because I “get” the importance of ME time! It’s priceless! Have a great weekend!

  2. Oh that time! I never appreciated the precious moments that were quiet, until I had children. Right now, mine are with their grandparents. I’m savoring the quiet moments, but I’m missing that “thump” I hear when one of the kidlets tumbles out of bed. Great post! Thanks for sharing!

  3. I love puttering around the house in the morning.I live alone, but enjoy the days I get up before the dogs, or that I know no neighbors are up yet. It feel as though I’m the only person awake in the world.

  4. kdiez2013 says:

    Someday I hope this is me! Instead, today I was the one who needed that extra hour! I am glad they you are able to celebrate a little ‘Me’ time! Great slice!

  5. I love waking up early too if I get me time. I loved “the pitter-patter of tiny people feet, or the heaviness of my husband’s” I listen for the those same sounds.

Leave a Reply

