Heartbroken

Sleepovers are a big thing when you are a kid. Having one with your cousin is even better. Yesterday, my girls found out they were going to be spending the night at my sister’s house so that Greg and I can go out to dinner with some friends.

Last night, the girls began talking about what they would do at TaTa’s house with Maryssa. The movies they would watch, the popcorn they would eat, the time that they would go to bed, all the important details. They went to bed so excited!

This morning, the girls woke up and immediately asked what time we were leaving to go to the sleepover. I repeated myself about 8 times that we would not leave until 3:30. The girls picked out pajamas for tonight and clothes for Saturday. They packed their bags and made sure that their blankets and friends (Dora and Treasure) were set right next to the bags. They were ready to go at 9:00 a.m.

Then the phone call came. Maryssa was throwing up and stayed home from school. There could not be a sleepover tonight. Breaking the news to my girls was so difficult. There were tears and shouts of “No!”. Their hearts were broken!

Hopefully PaPa and Grandma can take a close second tonight and we can reschedule the sleepover for another day.

5 thoughts on “Heartbroken

  1. Awe! Sleepovers are so fun. I like how you built the anticipation with their questioning the departing time repeatedly and with them packing all their treasures to go. Nice job!

  2. Oh, Kelly. I know in the grand scheme of life, this is not the end of the world, but it sure feels like it in the moment. I hate when I have to deliver disappointing news. It breaks my heart. Poor excited girls. They’ll have fun with grandma and grandpa… but its just not the same. Hope Maryssa feels better soon!!

  3. They were so excited. I’m sure they were disappointed to not be able to go. Hopefully their cousin will get well quickly and they can reschedule soon.

    Cathy

Leave a Reply

