Daddy’s Tradition

Daddy came home last night from his business trip to San Diego. As soon as the girls saw him walking up to meet us at the restaurant, they ran up to him, gave him a hug and asked, “Where are our presents?” Daddy started this tradition a while ago and the only thing the girls have to do is behave while he is gone to earn a small gift. Actually, they don’t have to behave, they just have to be cute when Daddy gets home. A few little smiles, a couple of giggles and lots of happy conversation will turn Daddy into a big mush and the girls will walk away with their rewards. Everytime Daddy is goes on a trip Ashleigh receives a spoon from the city Daddy visits while Mollie receives a small snow globe. Daddy often searches stores and airports for just the right spoon and snow globe. Because Daddy has visited some cities a number of times, he must make sure that there are no repeats. Before he leaves for each trip, he checks each collection thoroughly and will sometimes take a picture of the spoon and/or globe from that particular city.

These small gifts mean the world to the girls and their Daddy!

9 thoughts on “Daddy’s Tradition

  1. Being a Murphy myself, I just had to read this! What a nice daddy your girls have! My husband didn’t work as hard in buying the treats…he used to bring home soaps with my son’s ‘letter’ on it, or a little lotion for my girl or a hotel pen for my littlest guy. For a while, they were just happy he thought about them! But after a while…he had to up his game big time!

  2. What a cool tradition, Kelly! I’m so curious – why a spoon? I loved this line so much: Actually, they don’t have to behave, they just have to be cute when Daddy gets home. Such honesty in your writing!

    BTW, that smile on Mollie’s face is killing me.

    • I really do not know how the spoon thing started. I think that Greg brought one home one time and she just loved it. She would play with it and carry it around – if memory serves me correctly!

  3. What a wonderful tradition! This is going to grow into a collection that your girls cherish and pass down to their own children when they grow up! What wonderful memories 🙂

  4. Awe, sweet story and “tradition.” I love the part when you talk about them just having to be good only to retract that…so true! 🙂 Melted my heart to read that before he leaves, Greg views their collection to make sure there are no doubles. Thanks for sharing!

  5. “Daddy started this tradition a while ago and the only thing the girls have to do is behave while he is gone to earn a small gift. Actually, they don’t have to behave, they just have to be cute when Daddy gets home.” How fun for you! JK. This slice lies close to my heart. As the product of a working and traveling father, I have tons of these. Most are junk but they are funny junk that he stopped to find and learn about and proof that he missed me. Girls need that.

Leave a Reply

