Let’s Go To The Movies

Ever since Ashleigh was 3, going to the movies has been a family event. We would go see the latest family movie and have popcorn, pretzel bites, icees, and candy. We also would leave singing the songs from the movie or repeating the great one-liners from the funny characters. Today was no exception.

Today we went to see Cinderella. Even though the girls know almost every part of the plot, they were in awe of the beautiful scenery, gorgeous costumes, and real live people playing characters that were once cartoons. Ashleigh, my sensitive one, cried 2 times during the movie, once when Cinderella’s mother died and once when Cinderella was so upset at her step-family’s hurtful actions. Mollie, my comedian and scaredy cat, laughed at the funny parts and curled into me when the step mother was being her villainous self. Watching a movie through the eyes of a child is one of the best parts of being a parent!

5 thoughts on “Let’s Go To The Movies

  1. You brought back sweet memories for me of taking my children to the movies. There were always laughter and tears. It’s a special thing to take them to the movie theater, too, now that it’s so easy just to watch at home, but it’s a different experience.

  2. Love this! I may need to steal your girls because I really, REALLY want to go and see Cinderella but don’t have any little ones to use as my excuse to see it!!!

  3. Awww! I can’t wait to take both boys to the movies. Boys are different than girls with the whole sitting still for two hours. Matt was 4 and maybe Luke can handle it his summer? I’m hoping. There’s some Disney monkey kingdom movie coming this summer that looks like it’s going to do the trick! Great slice! That Cinderella movie looks soooo good!

  4. I can always picture those two when I read your slices. So sweet, as always. I love to go to the movies with my peanut- we have a ball. Maybe a future slice in my future. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

