Do You Remember…?

This morning on the drive to work I decided to turn off my usual radio station and listen to the satellite radio Y2K country station (after so many slices yesterday about satellite radio, I decided to give it a try). A song by Darryl Worley titled “Have You Forgotten?” came on and instantly I was asking myself the old question “Do you remember where you were when…?”

Do you remember where you were when JFK was shot? Sorry, I was not even a thought in my parents minds yet, but I know that they can give me very specific details about where they were that day and who told them.

Do you remember where you were when O.J. Simpson was being chased by police in his Bronco? I was sitting at Olympic Star with my family enjoying a cup of their amazing chicken noodle soup. We watched the chase from the second it was on TV and then canceled any plans we had for the night to sit by the television at home and watch to see if O.J. ended up getting caught. A few weeks ago, I was able to relive the chase while watching it on TV during the show “The People vs. O.J. Simpson”. My dad even text me to ask if I remember sitting at Olympic Star that night – he asks that question any time the name O.J. Simpson is mentioned on TV or on sports radio as well. It was a night that he remembers as well.

Do you remember where you were on 9/11 when you heard the tragic news? I was in my first year of teaching and I remember my mentor teacher coming over to let me know what was happening. She told me that the twin towers in NYC were hit by 2 airplanes and that it was chaos all over New York. I calmly walked over to the computer to search for information and was only able to find one report. I remember being worried for my dad and brother who were both in Chicago and hoping that nothing that devastating would happen in our beautiful city. Calling family to check in as the day went on and meeting up with friends at a local establishment to talk and pray that this did not mean war and drafts.

Do you remember where you were when… Princess Diana died? …when Michael Jackson died? …when Barrack Obama was elected president?  I wonder what questions my kids will ask me in the future for school projects. I wonder what the next news piece will be that stops everyone in their tracks for days at a time and has them glued to the news.

4 thoughts on “Do You Remember…?

  1. Rita K. says:

    I loved your post, and because I’m so old, lived through all of those events and remember where I was when many occurred. It’s interesting to look back, it’s scary to think about the next tragedy, though. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I also loved the way you wrote this, and it reminded me of some of my own stories about “where I was when”. These are the stories that make those events real to those who didn’t experience them in their own lifetime. Great idea!

  3. I not only remember the vivid details of the planes, but the rush of emotions I had as I frantically called to find my husband who took the subway under the towers. The frustration I had as each new person called and I had nothing to report because I could not get in touch with my husband. The minutes that seemed like hours. I remember the peace I felt as I heard the voice of my husband telling me he was okay. I boy, do I remember 911. Really good piece.

Leave a Reply

