The Power of Words

Words. They can cut like a knife.

Words. They have the power to hurt, help, and heal.

Words. They can make or break a person’s day.

 As I was walking through the hallway the other day, a group of students was walking towards me. I often see this group of students walking and talking to each other as they pass by my office to go the Health class and usually, they walk by me with a “Hello!” or “Good morning.” There is one girl, however, who for the longest time would not look at me nor say hello. As she would pass by with her friends, she would lower her head and keep it moving. That is, until the other day.

This day, as she was walking by, she looked at me and said, “You look pretty today, Mrs. Andruch.” Taken aback by her voice and comment, I quickly said “Thank you.” and kept moving to the computer lab to begin PARCC testing. Throughout the day, I thought about her comment and how this girl has never said so much as 3 words to me the entire time she has been at this school (she actually just started a few months ago). Everytime I thought about her compliment, I would smile and my day would get a little brighter.

She also did not know how much I needed to hear those words that day. You see, my husband was out of town on a business trip and I was in charge of the girls. It was not a particularly rough morning with them, but they were slow to get moving and dragging as I got them into the car to go to day care on their day off from school (good old Casmir Pulaski – what a guy!). I did not go through my normal morning routine and my husband was not there to say that I looked nice that morning, like he so often does. 

The compliment from that kind, young lady was exactly what I needed to hear that day.

 Thank you, young lady, for your sweet compliment, making me smile and filling a void I did not even know I needed filled. Your kind words made my day brighter!

5 thoughts on “The Power of Words

  1. Terje says:

    Lovely slice. I don’t think people, especially children, realize how much simple kind and positive words may mean.

  2. Words are so very powerful and this slice is a perfect example of what a difference they can make in someone’s day. It always makes me happy reading the positive things our young people do and say. This slice makes me very happy!! 🙂

  3. That’s so sweet! I loved it when they acted like adults in this manner. The other manners, maybe not so much 😉 anyways, the way you set this up with your observation notes of her over the months and then the breakthrough first contact on her part, well done.

Leave a Reply

