Storms

I HATE storms. And I am one that does not use the word hate lightly. I really HATE them.

When there is talk of a storm on the horizon, I must get inside immediately. No matter how far away the storm is from where I am, get inside and take cover. It could be sunny and blue skies, it doesn’t matter. It also does not matter whose house I am at – friend, family, neighbor or stranger, I will be in it quietly freaking out so that I do not scare the children.

Upon entering the house, I will turn the TV on and tune into the Weather Channel. I need to be able to watch what is happening with the storm. My need to know where the storm is, the intensity and looking at the color of the storm on the radar screen is very terrifying for me, but I do it anyway. If a TV is not available for this, due to sporting events, kid TV shows and/or the cable being out, I will attempt to get my phone connected to the Weather Channel to watch the colors change from green. To yellow. To orange. To red. To purple (only in really severe situations). I have also been known to find an old radio and tune into the first radio station I can find that has storm updates if the power is out.

My favorite part about watching the radar is when the colors downgrade and the storm heads in a completely different direction from where the Weather Channel states my current location is detected. This incessant need to know about the upcoming storm has caused me many sleepless nights and unproductive days. Nothing gets done when I am worrying and freaking out inside. I try to go about my business so my girls don’t get scared as well, but they know what the colors on the screen mean, what a tornado siren means and how to come running down the stairs when the TV makes the loud beeping sound warning of a tornado.

Due to the storms tonight, I will be watching the Weather Channel and will be very groggy tomorrow morning.

I HATE storms!

10 thoughts on “Storms

  1. I am so glad I’m not the only one! My husband was out of town last night (of course) and I felt the panic rising as the clouds got darker. When I heard the hard rain (hail?) start I turned the volume of Tom Skilling up and moved into my closet with my doggie. We cuddled there for a few hours drifting in and out of sleep before I deemed it safe to crawl back into bed. Here’s hoping our day goes by quickly!

  2. Katie Diez says:

    I am oddly fascinated by storms, but find myself much more anxious about them now that I have kids…especially at night…I am glad these storms were not as dangerous as predicted….I just wish that I could blame the storm on my sleepless night….

  3. amarie11028 says:

    I don’t know why, but as long as I am safe in my house, I LOVE storms. They are the perfect excuse to relax and do nothing. I am oddly fascinated by them as well!

  4. When I was young, we use to sit on our front porch and watch them roll in…I have never thought about it as scary. I watched and was apart of a tornado and the aftermath…I respect a storm and embrace it’s awesomeness. I have your back during one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

