My Team

Everyone has a team. A team is a group of people that you can count on in good and bad times. Teams work together for the greater good and want to make a difference in each others lives. Teammates call and text each other to share a story, crack a joke or just to check in. Teams are like family. They rejoice in your good times and sympathize in the bad. 

I am lucky to have a team that I get to see and talk with 5 days a week. We miss each other when we are out sick or have meetings to attend. We text each other for assistance with students or just to check for a pulse because we haven’t heard anything in a while. We call each other to hear a story. We ask each other how our families are doing and listen to make sure everything is okay. 

Great sports teams often talk of a family atmosphere in the clubhouse/locker room after they win a championship. The last 3 years I have been a part of the family that athletes talk fondly about. My teammates have shown me love, flexibility, honesty, trust – the list can go on forever. Without this team, I would not be able to get through the work day, let alone the school year. Each one of my teammates hold a special place in my heart for their own reasons. It is because of the work we do and the bond that we share that makes going to work each day a joy, regardless of the chaos that may happen.

So, even though today is Sunday and I loath the thought of going back to the craziness of the week, I look forward to being at home with my team in the morning. 

5 thoughts on “My Team

  1. Ellen Smith says:

    What a wonderful description of the special relationships that teaching teams have. I loved the two teams that I was part of – I especially love the last line – I remember feeling the same way. Enjoy your team time!

  2. Katie Diez says:

    This love note to your team is beautiful….how you are able to express the “oneness” of this unit with such emotion is touching. They are a lucky team to have such a wonderful member! I should know😉

Leave a Reply

