Seen and Unseen

I see you turning the pages quicker every time but what I cannot see are the pages turning in your brain as you look for where that information lies. 

I see you writing furiously on your page but what I cannot see are the words you are writing in your brain as you try to come up with the answer. 

I see your mouth moving as you read the words silently to yourself but what I cannot see is how difficult it is for your brain to sound out those challenging words. 

I see you counting on your fingers as you complete the problem but what I cannot see are how the numbers work in your brain. 

I see you raise your hand to tell me that you are finished but what I cannot see is how hard this was for you and that you just want to this test to be over. 

8 thoughts on “Seen and Unseen

  1. This so captures the frustration of testing. We are built to see in their minds and get to what they are thinking in order to help them. Testing sometimes feels like we’ve left them floundering on their own.

  2. amarie11028 says:

    I love this piece and how you worded each line. This is exactly what I think about when I watch my students test.

  3. Leigh Anne says:

    We finished up round of testing this week, too. So unfair for all involved. I like the way you crafted this slice. I might have to borrow this seen and unseen format.

  4. Katie Diez says:

    This describes the week so well…the tension throughout and the complete helplessness of teachers…this encompasses all of it!

Leave a comment