Night Sky

Tonight as I was driving home from a very long day at work, I was contemplating my next slice. I was feeling a writer’s block coming on. Since I did not have much time during the day, I had not even thought about what to slice about, much less sit down at the computer to begin drafting something. However, as I stepped out of the car, I looked up and saw the most beautiful sight. 

The sky was dark but clear and there was not a cloud in the sky to obscure my view. The beauty of such a night allows the hundreds of stars to appear and glow bright. I love looking up at the sky on a night like tonight. I dream about the millions of stars in the universe and the millions of light years they are from us. I also think about the old say, “Star light, star bright, first star I see tonight. I wish I may, I wish I might, have the wish I wish tonight.” So tonight I made a wish, like I did when I was a little girl. 

What is the wish? Well, I can’t tell you because it might not come true!

7 thoughts on “Night Sky

  1. I want to make a wish too. I need to share that with my little girls. Thank you for taking me back to a moment when I was staring at the stars with my mom on our driveway and she taught me that rhyme. I might have to slice about it!

  2. Awe, love it! Brought me back to the innocent days, so young, so impressionable, so carefree.
    Your description on the night sky was wonderful – dark, clear, not a cloud to obscure your view, stars shining bright… Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment